Waco's Kollin Kahler wins Overall Gold Medal

            Waco High’s Kollin Kahler dominated the competition to take home the Gold Medal as the Overall best kicker at the 2009 Lone Star Kicking Challenge in Austin this weekend. Kahler successfully defended his 2008 Punting Championship, placed first in the Preliminary Field Goal competition but settled for a Silver Medal, when his potential competition-winning 55 yarder bounced off the upright, and took fifth in the Kickoff competition. Kahler is the second player in the nine year history of the event to successfully win back-to-back punting championships (Kingwood’s Jon Lacour—currently at Texas Tech was the first), and the first player to win two golds and one silver in the same competition. Clay Williaford of Frisco Centennial won the Silver Overall and Alamo Heights' Kristian Stern took the Bronze. Players had to compete in all three kicking events to be considered for the All Around Title.

            Fredericksburg’s Ansel Berber-Thayer defeated Kahler in the finals of the Field Goal to win the Gold Medal in that event, while TrevorTumlinson of Shiloh Christian HS in Springdale, Arkansas became the first out of stater to medal, taking home the Bronze Medal. Josh Lambert of Garland won the underclassman (2012/2013) division.
            John Nelson of Corpus Christi Carroll won the kickoff competition, defeating Joe Graham of Irving Cistercian. Taylor Trahan of Nederland won the Bronze Medal, while Samuel Fowler of Crosby won the Underclass gold medal. 
            In Punting, William Markert of Yoakum placed second; Kyle Trimm of Kingwood Park was third, and James Potts of Leander Rouse was the top underclassman.
            Brent Schroeder of Abilene was the Gold Medalist in Snapping, edging Blake Dunham of Argyle in the final. Defending champion Robert Chapman of San Antonio Clark won the preliminary round, but lost to Dunham in the championship tournament to take the Bronze Medal. Over 150 players participated in this year’s event, held at Westlake High School in Austin.
Top Performers:
Top 12 Kickoff Preliminary Round:
Joe Graham—Irving Cistercian
Taylor Trahan—Nederland
John Nelson—Corpus Christi Carroll
Zach Olen—Richardson Berkner
Kollin Kahler—Waco
Ryan Denucci—Austin Anderson
Grant Pierce—Plano
Cody Rademacher—Austin Westlake
Paul McVey---A&M Consolidated
Clay Williaford—Frisco Centennial
Chad Hedlund—Argyle
Seth Garza—Bowie
Top Three—Underclass Kickoff (2012/2013)
Samuel Fowler—Crosby
Josh Lambert—Garland
Hartman Veith—Richmond Foster
Top 12 Field Goal Preliminary Round:
Kollin Kahler—Waco
Trevor Tumlinson—Springdale, AR
Ryan Denucci—Austin Anderson
Clay Williaford—Frisco Centennial
Kevin Gonzales—Lake Country Christian
Joe Graham—Irving Cistercian
Grant Pierce—Plano
Chad Peevey—Bryan St. Joseph
Jerry Owens—North Mesquite
Ansel Berber-Thayer—Fredericksburg
Alex Mueller—Grapevine
Josh Lambert--Garland
Top Three—Underclass Field Goal (2012/2013
Josh Lambert—Garland
Josh Willis—Midland Christian
Anthony Rowley—Searcy, AR
Top 12 Punting Preliminary Round:
Kollin Kahler—Waco
Kyle Trimm—Kingwood Park
Kristian Stern—Alamo Hts.
Brett Dunn-FB Clements
Kyle Hoffman—Pflugerville
Devyi Hurtado—Katy
Daniel Debord—FB Clements
Josh Ward—Pleasanton
Parker Lloyd—Tyler Lee
Ernesto Gueverra—Waco
William Markert—Yoakum
Steve Sutphen—A&M Consolidated
Top Three—Underclass Punting (2012/2013)
James Potts—Leander Rouse
Samuel Fowler—Crosby
Robert Aguilar—SA Southwest
Top Eight Snappers Preliminary Round:
Robert Chapman—SA Clark
Justin Ortega—SA Reagan
Brent Schroeder—Abilene
Shane Hennig—Lorena
Andrew Suter—FB Clements
Johnathan Hodge—Plano West
Rogan Lye—Austin Westlake
Blake Dunham—Argyle